Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Nas to perform 'Illmatic' in its entirety at Coachella 2014 + 'Time is Illmatic' Documentary

With Illmatic, I didn't think about it. I just did it. I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I'm supremely grateful. There's a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue’. I'm here today because of Illmatic” – Nas.

To commemorate 'Illmatic' 's 20th anniversary, Nas has announced that the album will be re-released as a special anniversary edition titled, Illmatic XX. This edition will feature a number of unreleased remixes, demos, and freestyles.
In addition to THAT great news, Nas also announced that he will be performing the album in its entirety at Coachella this year.
This is going to be HUGE.
If you can't make Coachella, don't worry. Nas is going on tour for the album. So far, I can only tell you that it kicks off here in DC March 28th and 29th at the Kennedy Center. I'll keep you posted when I receive more dates.

As a conjunction with the album release, Time is Illmatic, a feature length documentary film that examines the album, will
also drop this year.

"The movie, from first-time filmmakers One9 (director/producer) and Erik Parker (writer/produer), delves into the making of Illmatic; the social conditions that created it; and the music legacy passed down from Nas’ Mississippi-born father and celebrated jazz musician, Olu Dara. Time Is Illmatic is supported by The Ford Foundations’ Just Films and Tribeca All Access. More information will be released on the film in the coming months. For more information go to www.TimeIsIllmatic.com. "

In the meantime, here is the tracklisting to Illmatic XX:
Tracklisting: Disc 1: Remastered original album
1. The Genesis
2. N.Y. State Of Mind
3. Life's A Bitch
4. The World Is Yours
5. Halftime
6. Memory Lane (Sittin' In Da Park)
7. One Love
8. One Time 4 Your Mind
9. Represent
10. It Ain't Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
1. I'm A Villain (previously unreleased)
2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
4. It Ain't Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)
5. One Love (LG Main Mix)
6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)
7. One Love (One L Main Mix)
8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
9. It Ain't Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)
10. It Ain't Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)

s.o. to NasirJones.com

Related Post: Nas Introduces 'Hip Hop Fellowship' to Harvard students

Related Post: Motivation Mondays : It Ain't Hard to Tell | Nas

No comments:

Post a Comment